Skip to main content

Book Review- Ramayana-The Game of Life: Stolen Hope


Why do snakes have a forked tongue?
How did Sitaphal (Custard Apple) get its name?
Why don’t the squirrels hurt themselves even after falling from heights?

Stolen Hope is the third book in the series and follows The Game of Life: Shattered Dreams and gives you answers to such simple yet intriguing facts. Shattered Dreams captured that part of Ramayana where King Dasaratha gives Rama 14 years of exile and reserves the throne of Ayodhya for Bharata due to a promise made to Keikeyi. Stolen hope is an account of thirteen years of Rama’s exile along with Sita and Laxmana who accompanied him in the arduous mission.

Rama, Sita and Laxman are supposed to spend fourteen years in exile. However, they do not perceive this as a punishment. The regret of not being able to enjoy the royal life does not cross any of their minds. Instead, they look forward to the company of august sages and the teachings that will come their way during these fruitful years. The glory of the Trio precedes them and they are welcomed warmly wherever they go. The inhabitants of Dandakaranya, Janasthana and Panchavati not only shower their love and blessings on them but also guide them for their onward journey. Every living being around them is grateful and obliged to be able to serve the mighty and benevolent Rama. Rama also religiously follows his vow to eliminate Rakshsas who torment the naïve sages and helpless humans. After spending thirteen long years in different forest habitats, the Trio was looking forward to return to Ayodhya and meet Bharata and rest of the family. They decide to spend their last year of exile in the beautiful forest of Panchvati. However, the otherwise serene life of these three ad-hoc ascetics is upturned when Ravana abducts Sita and leaves Rama and Laxmana wondering about her whereabouts.

Having read the earlier books in the series, it was convenient for me put the pieces in sequence. However, even if you have not read the Book 1 & 2 of the series, you will not feel lost because of two reasons: first, almost of all us, at least in India, are aware of the basic plot of Ramayana and second, the author has given a summary of both the previous books in the beginning. The format of this book is similar to the earlier one. Simple words and alignment of important incidents as short comprehensible stories is what makes this series stand out. I particularly like the footnotes given on each page that highlight the importance of age-old classic to our day-to-day life. Ramayana, needless to say, is full of wise teachings but its application in practical life is lost in comprehension. Shubha Vilas bridges that gap for us.

The captivating cover page is also worth a mention here. Stolen Hope captures the thirteen years of exile in 300 odd pages readable in 3 days, at the most 4. And I certainly look forward to the Book # 4 of Ramayana- The Game of Life.

My Rating:

About the Author: Shubha Vilas is a spiritual seeker and a motivational speaker. He holds a degree in engineering and law with specialization in IP: Patent Law. His leadership seminars such as Secrets of Lasting Relationships’, ‘Soul Curry to Stop Worry’ and ‘Work–Life Balance’ are popular with top-level management in corporate houses. He also helps individuals deal with modern-life situations by applying the teachings of the Bhagavad Gita, Ramayana and other dharmic traditions.

This review is a part of the biggest Book Review Program for Indian Bloggers. Participate now to get free books!


Popular posts from this blog

Cabin Monologue

I feel nice. I spoke to my friend after a long time. I don’t understand why he distanced himself over the last few years. We were so close in college. We also got a job in the same company. Both of us worked hard to get where we are today. Our means were different, so were our expectations from our position. Of course, I love my family but I wanted to enjoy the benefits that came with my powerful position. He didn’t agree with me. I guess that was the reason he stopped talking to me. I was really happy to talk to him today but then he started the same old nonsense. What does he mean that it will blow in my face? That I should change? Times are changing, he said. I wanted to shout back at him that nothing has changed and it never will. 

Cover Reveal – Paradise Towers- Debut Novel by Shweta Bachchan Nanda

10th October 2018 will add one more remarkable name to the glamorous list of Bollywood celebrities turned authors. Shweta Bachchan Nanda brings to us a hilarious but moving tale of quirky residents of Paradise Towers. As the bookworms impatiently wait for its launch on her dad’s birthday , it has already gained some rave reviews from some well-known names of Bollywood. Coming from one of the most talented lineage of the industry, Shweta Bachchan Nanda promises a lot to the literary ecosphere. And while we will have to wait till 10th October to get our copy of Paradise Towers, Writersmelon have provided us the cover of the book to reveal on Kolorpencil to contain our excitement for now.

Cross Connection is not a book

Yes, you read that right. Cross Connection is not a book. Or, let me rephrase that. Cross Connection is not just a book. It is much more than that. It is a feeling I have lived for last so many years. It is a testimonial of the love of two completely opposite people who decided to come together. It is a tribute to their families with completely different cultures who came together and celebrated this bond of love. It is an ovation to the challenges that these two people and their families faced while adjusting with each other and came closer. And it is a promise that in spite of everything, this cross connection will only grow stronger.